Shop  
 
[ Home ] [ Up ] [ Info ] [ Search ] [ View Cart ] [ Checkout  ] [ Send Mail ] [ Trade customer account login ]

Left tabNET WATCHRight tab

NET WATCH

Shop |  NET WATCH

LEICESTER FIREMEN

LEICESTER FIREMEN

Six Months on the Central

Teenage firing days at Leicester at the very end of steam

By Brian Elliott

FROM BRILL If anybody is interested in what engines worked on the Central in the last six months, here is a list of the engines that Sid and I worked on and the dates, but which locomotive was on what part of the turn I cannot tell.

Tuesday 19/4/66 Turn 1

45288

Wednesday 20/4/66 Turn 1

44936

Thursday 21/4/66 Turn 1

44835

Friday 22/4/66 Turn 1

44941

Saturday 23/4/66 Turn 1

45190

Monday 25/4/66 Turn 2

44984

44941

Tuesday 26/4/66 Turn 2

45426

44941

Wednesday 27/4/66 Turn 2

45454

45288

Thursday 28/4/66 Turn 2

44825

44920

Friday 29/4/66 Turn 2

45190

45333

Saturday 30/4/66 Tum2

45190

45333

Tuesday 3/5/66 Turn 3

45114

45190

Wednesday 4/5/66 Turn 3

44835

45426

Thursday 5/5/66 Turn 3

44920

44941

Friday 6/5/66 Turn 3

44984 (failed at Leicester - injectors returned as pass to Nottingham)

45190

Saturday 7/5/66 Turn 3

45426

44941

Monday 9/5/66 Turn 4

45426

45190

Tuesday 10/5/66 Turn 4

45454

44936

Wednesday 11/5/66 Turn 4

44825

45324

Thursday 12/5/66 Turn 4

45288

44936

Friday 13/5/66 Turn 4

45426

44941

Saturday 14/5/66 Turn 4

45190

Tuesday 17/5/66 Turn 1

45426

Wednesday 18/5/66 Turn 1

44936

Thursday 18/5/66 Turn 1

44835

Friday 20/5/66 Turn 1

45222

Saturday 21/5/66 Turn 1

44941

Monday 23/5/66 Turn 2

44835

44984

Tuesday 24/5/66 Turn 2

44825

45308

Wednesday 25/5/66 Turn 2

45426

45464

Thursday 26/5/66 Turn 2

45426

45267

Friday 27/5/66 Turn 2

44825

45331

Saturday 28/5/66 Turn 2

44825

45333

Tuesday 31/5/66 Turn 3

45331

45324

Wednesday 1/6/66 Turn 3

44876

44984

Thursday 2/6/66 Turn 3

45464

45331

Friday 3/6/66 Turn 3

44825

45089

Saturday 4/6/66 Turn 3

45426

45324

Monday 6/6/66 Turn 4

44941

45186

Tuesday 7/6/66 Turn 4

45426

44780

Wednesday 8/6/66 Turn 4

45283

44860

Thursday 9/6/66 Turn 4

44825

44941

Friday 10/6/66 Turn 4

45454 (failed at Nottingham with three of the six tender axle boxes hot replaced by 44944)

44920

Saturday 11/6/66 Turn 4

44825

Tuesday 14/6/66 Turn 1

44825

D5414 (start of new workings Netherfield to Derby parcels)

Wednesday 15/6166 Turn 1

44825

D7568

Thursday 16/6/66 Turn 1

44944

D7568

Friday 17/6/66 Turn 1

44936

D7568

Saturday 18/6/66 Turn 1

44835

D5375

Monday 20/6/66 Turn 2

44825

44835

Tuesday 21/6/66 Turn 2

D5086 (44941 failed in London and D5086 brought the train in, then 45222 took it forward)

45222

Wednesday 22/6/66 Turn 2

44920

44835

Thursday 23/6/66 Turn 2

45222

45331

Friday 24/6/66 Turn 2

44920

45331

Saturday 25/6/66 Turn 2

44984

Tuesday 28/6/66 Turn 3

44941

45292

Wednesday 29/6/66 Turn 3

44984

45222

Thursday 30/6/66 Turn 3

44920

45324

Friday 1/7/66 Turn 3

45267

45324

Saturday 2/7/66 Turn 3

45426

44984

Monday 4/7/66 Turn 4

45324

44920

Tuesday 5/7/66 Turn 4

44847

45292

Wednesday 6/7/66 Turn 4

44920

44835

Thursday 7/7/66 Turn 4

45292

44941

Friday 8/7/66 Turn 4

45222

44835

Saturday 9/7/66 Turn 4

44984

Tuesday 12/7/66 Turn 1

44920

D5212

Wednesday 13/7/66 Turn 1

44984

D7657

Thursday 14/7/66 Turn 1

45324 (failed locomotive at Nottingham Victoria with right hand big end running hot)

D5233

Friday 15/7/66 Turn 1

45222

D5233

Saturday 16/7/66 Turn 1

45222

D5233

Monday 18/7/66 Turn 2

44835

45222

Tuesday 19/7/66 Turn 2

44847

45426

Wednesday 20/7/66 Turn 2

44920

45426

Thursday 21/7/66 Turn 2

44835

44941

Friday 22/7/66 Turn 2

44920

45222

Saturday 23/7/66 Turn 2

44920

45267

Tuesday 26/7/66 Turn 3

45324

45324 (short of engines at Colwick returned with same engine)

Wednesday 27/7/66 Turn 3

45222

45267

Thursday 28/7/66 Turn 3

44920

45324

Friday 29/7/66 Turn 3

45222

45324

Saturday 30/7/66 Turn 3

44876

45289

Monday 1/8/66 Turn 4

45289

44920

Tuesday 2/8/66 Turn 4

44847

44825

Wednesday 3/8/66 Turn 4

44920

45222

Thursday 4/8/66 Turn 4

44860

44858

Friday 5/8/66 Turn 4

44920

44984

Saturday 6/8/66 Turn 4

44847

Tuesday 9/8/66 Turn 1

44811 (engine must have come out of store and put back in service - everything rusty)

D5183

Wednesday 10/8/66 Turn 1

45224

D5207

Thursday 11/8/66 Turn 1

44847

D5281

Friday 12/8/66 Turn 1

44811

D5281

Saturday 13/8/66 Turn 1

44811

D5281

Monday 15/8/66 Turn 2

44858

44984

Tuesday 16/8/66 Turn 2

44984

45222

Wednesday 17/8/66 Turn 2

44858

44984

Thursday 18/8/66 Turn 2

44984

44811

Friday 19/8/66 Turn 2

44936

44811

Saturday 20/8/66 Turn 2

44811 (to Nottingham)

92213 (return working to Banbury came up early in the day in place of a failed Black Five)

Tuesday 23/8/66 Turn 3

44808

44808 (short of locomotives at Colwick returned with same locomotive)

Wednesday 24/8/66 Turn 3

44858

44858 (same as above)

Thursday 25/8/66 Turn 3

45222

44811

Friday 26/8/66 Turn 3

44840

44858

Saturday 27/8/66 Turn 3

45224

45267

Tuesday 30/8/66 Turn 4

44808

45222

Wednesday 31/8/66 Turn 4

45224

44808

Thursday 1/9/66 Turn 4

44936 (on Banbury part; picture taken with Sid Parker myself and Nottingham crew at Leicester)

45493

Friday 2/9/66 Turn 4

44847 (on Banbury part; came home passenger for Nottingham as the Central will shut the next day)

Saturday 3/9/66 Turn 4

D5000 (Last day on the Central returned with D5000 light engine to Leicester)


Shop |  NET WATCH